Reconstitution of Indian National Man and Biosphere Committee

I n a notification dated October 21, 1997, the Ministry of Environment & Forests has decided to reconstitute the Indian National Man and Biosphere Committee. The composition is as follows :

1.   Dr Sushil Kumar Director, Central Institute of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants, Lucknow              Chairman
2.   Professor  H C Aggarwal, Department of Zoology , University of Delhi                               Member
3.   Professor C K Varshney, School of Life Sciences, Jawahar Lal Nehru University, New Delhi           Member
4.   Professor J V Ramana Rao, Osmania University, Hyderabad                                            Member
5.   Dr S N Rai, Forest Survey of India, Dehradun                                                       Member
6.   Dr P V Dehadrai, Additional Director General (Fisheries) ICAR, New Delhi                           Member
7.   Professor K C Malhotra, Indian Statistical Institute, Anthropology and Human Genetics Unit
     203 Barrackpur Trunk Road, Calcutta                                                                Member
8.   Professor P R Shukla, Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad                                    Member
9.   Professor C R Babu, Department of Botany, University of Delhi                                      Member
10.  Dr D H Parashar, National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi                                           Member
11.  Dr N H Ravindranath, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore                                        Member
12.  Professor V Asthana, School of Environmental Sciences, 
     Jawahar Lal Nehru University, New Delhi                                                            Member
13.  Shri K Mohan, Adviser (RE), Ministry of Environment & Forests, New Delhi                           Member
14.  Dr Subodh K Sharma, Director (RE)                                                                  Member
15.  Dr (Mrs) Chhanda Chowdhury, Joint Director (RE)                                                    Member Secretary

The following are the terms of reference of the committee :

i)   The committee will examine the research projects received for financial
     assistance and make recommendations in regard to their suitability for financial

ii)  The committee will advise the Ministry on the formulation, implementation and
     monitoring of research projects under the MAB Research Programme.

Besides the members of the committee, the Ministry may invite the following for the meetings of the committee depending on the requirement of expertise as special invitees :

1.   Director, Botanical Survey of India, Calcutta
2.   Director, Zoological Survey of India, Calcutta
3.   Director, Wildlife Institute of India, Dehradun
4.   Director, GB Pant Institute of Himalayan Environment and Development, Kosi,
5.   Representative of Conservation and Survey Division, Ministry of Environment
     & Forests, New Delhi
6.   Representatives of Central Pollution Control Board, New Delhi
7.   Director (WL), Ministry of Environment & Forests, New Delhi
8.   Director, SACON, Coimbatore
9.   A nominee of the Bombay Natural History Society

Director (Finance) or his representative will be the permanent invitee to all the meetings of the committee.

In case of special requirement of expertise in a specific area, the committee may invite experts other than the members, for specific meetings of the committee, as special invitees.

TA / DA of the non-official members and special invitees for attending the meeting of the committee will be borne by the Ministry of Environment & Forests as per Government of India rules.

Sitting charges of Rs 200 will be paid to each participating non-official member and special invitees called for the meeting of the committee.

The tenure of the committee shall be initially for a period of three years.